Blog Peer Pressure or Blog Envy

JayheartOkay, the funny thing is, I first wanted to start a blog about 4 or 5 years ago, and started doing the homework on how to go about such a thing.  I knew nothing, absolutely zero, about what was involved in how to start a blog.  I had seen one or two that I really liked and thought, that is such a cool way to write down what’s going on in your life and share photos etc.  Considering how much I love to take photos.

Anyway, I started one as I do, and didn’t really get the buzz out of it that I thought I would and gave up, as I do and just stuck with other avenues where I was more familiar, like sharing photos through Flickr or Facebook.   Over the last few years though I discovered a whole new world through Flickr, amazing women who take the most amazing photographs and have the most wonderful blogs.  But do you know as wonderful as this was, I fell into the trap that I have read so many other women have of thinking, wow, look at the lives these people lead – I can’t possibly match that.  They are so interesting, their homes are beautiful, they do such incredibly creative things with their kids all the time, they write in a way I never could.   I know I know, the blog should be for me and what I care about, which it is going to be, but it is really hard not to compare.  And I think most people out there that say they don’t and that they just do it for themselves are not being honest.  I want it to be like that, but I just don’t think it is.  I have really struggled with this and today I’m starting again, with the notion that I want to write about and share what only matters to me, to heck with what others are doing, but I’ll be honest it does still linger there in the back of mind and I know it always will.  But I will try.  Because I want to do this and I want for my kids to someday look at it too and think, wow what mum has done here is kind of cool.   And they will look back at memories I write about with a smile if I can put a good spin on our special times or my thoughts about them.

Anyway, long story short.  I wanted a blog.  I got blog fright.  I started and stopped many times.  But I’m here again really want to enjoy this.  I am totally inspired with a measured dose of blog envy by my friend T’s blog.  It is wonderful, and she is so talented, has a beautiful family and writes so well (refer first paragraph).  And I want to be just like when I grow up.  🙂

Here I go, diving in to the blog pool again.  This time I have my floaties people.  😀  One day I may even have a follower.  haha.

One thought on “Blog Peer Pressure or Blog Envy

  1. Do you know I feel so much like you? I have been blogging now for just over a year. It took almost that long to begin to feel slightly connected. I compare like crazy, as much as I tell myself not to, I just do. I see some blogs who have thousands of followers and it’s hard to comprehend. I just want to be able to write for myself as you have written here. Share with close and special friends and family. It’s a great way of therapy for me. It just feels so good to get it out sometimes. I will be a faithful follower to your blog, that’s a promise. I believe you have so much to offer and you write well and have a great sense of humor which I love. AND you take awesome pictures and you live in Australia and have this super cool accent and I want to know so much more about you and your life and what it’s like to live in such an awesome country. You keep going, don’t give up. I’m behind you all the way.

Leave a Reply

