Day 18 – Handmade

IMG_3041

I have to say, I am just so tired.  I’m really looking forward to starting my Christmas holidays this Friday.  Some relaxation and quality time with my bubbas.  I’m no busier than anyone else out there I know, but wow, it just seems time is accelerating at a ridiculous pace.  My ‘slow down’ mantra is not getting much of a look in.  Work/Christmas/family commitments are upon us big time.

So a quick think about handmade and I’m actually kind of surrounded by it here in my little geeky tech space here at home.  I have more, but my big girl camera is on zero battery, so I had to reach for the iPhone.  I have buckets of hand made bits and pieces, especially from my kids that I can’t and will never part with and I feel so special and lucky each time I look at one of them.

A special expensive or desired gift now and then of course is very special and appreciated when received, but these ones just mean so much more.  Here’s to handmade gifts of love.  xo

Following along with Laura at Capturing December.

IMG_3046
Not quite Christmas, but my baby boy made this drink coaster for me when he was about 8 out of bits of glass, mirror and tile and I just love it. 🙂

IMG_3042 IMG_3045

3 thoughts on “Day 18 – Handmade

  1. I feel you. I feel very busy and a little distracted. I have only one gift bought and its for Abbie. I will be doing all my shopping next week just days before Christmas. I didn’t send any cards this year since the budget didn’t really allow, it’s a choice I made and an area I cut. Dylan keeps playing tons of soccer games, three a week and two games on Saturday all month long. Doesn’t leave too much time to get things done. I also know I’m in a similar boat with a lot of mama’s out there. I like your handmade goodness. Is this the word for today? I had not checked yet. Love you my friend

    • Thank you lovely lady. I’m feeling way overwhelmed with things at the moment. I have most gifts already which is really weird for me as I’m usually running around like a mad chook on the last 1 or 2 days. But I just feel there’s still so much to do. I have overspent a little too so am feeling a little guilty I think. :/ Oh well, I’ll just have to be extra good after Christmas. I decided to check the list last night and yes it was Handmade for me as it was the 18th. It will be for you by now or very soon I think. Biggest hugs to you. 🙂 xo

  2. I feel the same way Cathie! No matter how much I get done it seems as though 10 more things pop up on the list and I end up even further behind than before. Ugh!

    I love all the handmade things that surround you! We try to make handmade gifts every year for the holidays and I really love getting something from someone who put all that effort into making it. I just hope those in the receiving end of ours feel the same ! 😉

    I hope things calm down for you soon and you are just able to enjoy the season with your loves!

Leave a Reply

