M.I.A.

With the craziness of 2013 drawing to a close I really felt I needed a break from all this techy, so I’m afraid I have been missing in action.  It really was good to walk past my phone, computer and strangely enough my camera and just say no for  while.  Mind you I couldn’t stay away from my camera for too long. 🙂

We have had a quiet Christmas break and have really just pottered around the house and had the odd visit with friends and family which sounds a little boring, but was much needed.  And we snuck in a quick trip to Proserpine to visit my mum.  I want so much from 2014, but also I want to take it at a slower pace.  Sounds crazy right!  But I am not one to do things the easy way.

I am excited for new things my children want to try in 2014.   Both want to try basketball, and Miss Jess wants to start singing and guitar lessons too.  Hmmm….  me thinks slower pace is in for some real challenge here.  And I am really looking forward to having some fun with a project I am doing with my wonderful and super talented friend Tracie.  Way back in the olden days of 2011, when I got my first serious camera I discovered the world of Flickr.   I found some ladies that were posting the most beautiful photos and a lot were of themselves which is something I found so interesting.  One of these ladies was Tracie.  I made a comment on a picture of hers and mentioned how hard I was finding it to connect on the site, and then I received the loveliest message.  From there a friendship grew.  🙂  I really wanted to know  how to take these self portraits or more importantly how they found it comfortable to do so.  They were all tagged with ‘Now You‘.  What the heck was this Now You.  Anyway, I closed my eyes, held my breath and jumped in.  I did Now You Summer and Now You Digging Deeper in 2012.  Loved the course and group so much.  Amazing beauty and talent amongst these ladies.  And then I took part in the 2013 52 of You course too.  I am officially a Now You addict.  I will be joining in again later this year for sure.

I really would like to find my blog groove and settle into some kind of routine, but without being too routine-ish.  And more importantly I really want to enjoy and have fun with this new little project with this amazing lady.

So bye for now, this was just a check in (which I started typing nearly a week ago).

Here is a little look at what we’ve been up to.

Visiting my beautiful mum.
This photo makes me a little sad. Mum seems so lonely.
Visits to some of our local Botannical Gardens. (my little photographer & her new tablet)
Cooling off from our ridiculous heat wave.

  1504202_10151982887739145_1090353242_o    1557405_10151982888109145_38937674_o

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

1522745_10151979595744145_728431559_o 1537927_10151979596149145_1879426517_o 1548201_10151979596369145_186974948_o

Bring it on 2014.

Cathie. xo

2 thoughts on “M.I.A.

  1. The pictures are great. I love the one of your mum. I love that you realize how important it is to capture her. It reminds me to do the same with my mom. It’s funny cause at first I thought this was an email direct to me, since your blog entries come in my in box. I was thinking, why is she speaking to me as if she is writing about me and not to me! Then I realized it was a blog post. Silly me! I’m honored to do this year long project with you. I can tell you without doubt, it will be life changing. It will be a change and it will take being consistent, it may go againt everything we currently are but it will be in the best possible way a great change in our lives. I have such a great feeling about this. Love your friend Tracie

    • Thanks chickadee. I know it well be positive and I’m so looking forward to it, but it’s going to take will power from me. I’m determined though. I’ll try and send you something for our blog in the next day or so. I really need to learn so much about healthy food. We are simple and repetitive eaters. So I may start with something about our plans and where we want to go. Please let me know if you would like me to help with setting this up if you are too busy.

Leave a Reply

