25 Songs in 25 Days – Day 1

A Song from My Childhood

Oh my god!!  Do you know how many emotions just this first post alone is stirring up.

Firstly I though of the song Footloose from the first soundtrack cassette I ever owned and then I thought of the Eddie and the Cruisers soundtrack which was probably my second.   Both of these became favourites when I was 12.  When I was just entering that tweenager obsessed with anything music stage.  🙂  I had Kevin Bacon all over my walls, seriously – all over my walls.  Unfortunately I didn’t go to the movies or get to watch movies so much when I was really young and of course video players and DVD players were not something my parents even thought of until I was about 14-ish.  Such a deprived child I was. 🙂

But then I saw Tracie & Kate’s posts and it made me think of songs from younger years.  And my favourite childhood movie had to be this one.  And I immediately started singing this to myself while I was still thinking about it.  So anyway, I searched on youtube for this song and as soon as it started playing tears sprang into my eyes.  It immediately took me back to the house we lived in, doing simple ordinary everyday stuff with my mum and getting cuddles from my favourite Aunt who was as close to a second mum you could have (she died in 1992 and I miss her every day).  Thankfully my beautiful girl loves this movie too, but we haven’t watched it in years.   Guess what we’ll be doing this weekend or maybe even tonight?  🙂

Damnit, now I have to go and find some more tissues….

Cathie xo

8 thoughts on “25 Songs in 25 Days – Day 1

  1. I LOVE how music can take us back. I cant’ imagine life without music. I also loved Eddie and the Cruisers. And this movie, yes, I loved it when I was a kid. So much. I remember crying when I saw it. Bambi lost his mama in a fire:( it made me so sad. That song is just so sweet. Makes me want to see this film again.

Leave a Reply

