Taking Stock

IMG_6026

I have seen two of these wonderful posts today from the lovely Tracie and her friend Christina and they reminded me that I started one of these waaaayyyyy back at the beginning of January when the year was new and fresh and we were all motivated and then I promptly forgot about it.  I’m kind of hopeless like that. 🙂  Anyway it prompted me to finish it.  I also follow a lovely blog Meet Me at Mike’s which has done the same and I originally saw this somewhere else inspirational at the beginning of the year and for the lift of me can’t remember.  See note about me being hopeless above.   Soooo, without further ado, here it is.

Making:  Plans for a healthier me
Cooking :  (tonight)  Baked Chicken and Potato Bake (not helping the plans above)
Drinking :  Water & more water
Reading:  Real Life Magazine (and about to read the book ‘Love, Rosie’)
Wanting:  an organised and de-cluttered house
Looking:  for some organisation advice for my house
Playing:  Bubble Safari on my phone
Deciding:  whether I should change jobs
Wishing:  for healthy and happy kids
Enjoying:  catching up on some of my favorite blogs
Waiting: for Greys Anatomy return tonight.  Yay!
Liking: the weather showing signs of getting a little cooler
Wondering:  if my mum’s lonely
Loving: family time lately with my kiddos
Pondering: how to be content
Considering: some changes
Watching: right now this screen. J  The Block (a house renovation show)
Hoping: to make positive changes in myself.
Marvelling: at people who just seem to get it right!
Needing: my mum sometimes.  Big girls need their mums too.
Smelling: the Butter Chicken I just at for lunch.
Wearing: my work uniform.  Grey shirt/black pants.  Boring!
Following: weekend link blogs.
Noticing: that I am living a kind of groundhog day life at the moment.
Knowing: I am stronger than I give myself credit for.
Thinking: About family.
Admiring: my beautiful daughter’s resilience to some nastiness.  She has a huge heart.

Sorting: a gazillion photos that need organising.

Buying: Project Life bits and pieces.
Getting: a little overwhelmed at the gazillion photos I need to sort through.
Bookmarking: organisation and de-cluttering tips and project life inspiration.
Disliking: the nastiness my girl has to deal with sometimes.
Opening: up to new experiences and friendships.  I’m such an introvert.
Giggling: at a post my oldest and best girlfriend made about us on Facebook.
Feeling:  a little nostalgic.
Snacking: a brownie hidden in my office drawer.  Ssshhhh….
Coveting:  a schmancy house make-over.
Helping:  my girl learn about photography and project life. (she loves it)
Hearing:  right now the boys in my office fighting about computer games.

Oh my gosh, did you make it to the end of my list.  Thanks for taking the time to read it.  Now for some links I have been saving up.  One of my favorite things on Monday morning is seeing some of the weekend link posts from a couple of my favorite bloggers.  I pick these up from some of these blogs and from all over.  Hope you enjoy these and I hope to do this a little more often.  Bye for now.

Great Photography Books http://petapixel.com/2014/11/28/13-photo-books-stocking-stuffers/

Being in the moment http://www.practisingsimplicity.com/2014/12/on-taking-less-photos.html

Lovely http://www.norvillerogers.com/an-open-letter-to-steph-who-sent-a-sky-lantern-to-her-father-which-landed-in-my-driveway/

This wedding is amazing. http://jonaspeterson.com/destination-wedding-2/masai-mara-wedding-nina-sebastian/

Goodbye at the door. http://www.shoandtellblog.com/2015/01/goodbye-at-door.html

I love this. http://mashable.com/2015/01/16/hippies-high-school/?utm_cid=mash-com-fb-main-link

Photographing children. http://www.practisingsimplicity.com/2014/07/how-to-photograph-your-kids-without.html 

Interesting. http://www.designformankind.com/2015/01/you-are-here/

I am really enjoying Project Life. Some inspiration: http://beckyhiggins.com/inspiration-from-our-creative-team-january-2015/

And the Project Life movie that makes me cry every time. Seriously every time. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2YHLowXd7Q

IMG_6021

7 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. Love it! That is a great list and I wish you well, especially in going through the photographs! For several years now, each January I go through everything and create a family yearbook, and take as many pictures from the previous year as I can get to fit, and make a photo book. It’s really helped me out with staying on top of the pictures! I love the look of Project Life, but man, that is so not what I’m built for! LOL

    • Of course I read it until the end. I’m even looking at all your favorite web pages. I could look at high school in the 60’s all day long! The Goodbye at the front door had me realizing your feelings towards your sweet mum. Give that sweet and beautiful Jess of yours a big, big hug from us. So who are these people who seem to be getting it right? I can’t seem to get anything quite right. I’m with you on the whole healthy front, huge battle. My chicken pot pie tastes so much better than raw veggies, it really does, and nobody can convince me otherwise that a big slice of chocolate cake can be replaced with fresh berries…I mean come on really? I noticed I was up 5 pounds this morning from my national average of 170. So I may go for a walk today. I drank some fruit in veggies I mixed up and trying to drink some water today. Hey, I’m an introvert too!! xo I was glad to see your post this morning when I woke up. Abbie asked me what time it was there…I said “they are already in Wednesday, can you believe that?”

    • Thanks Kate. I’m only doing the Project Life for this year so far. I’m doing the photo book thing too and have almost finished my 2011 book through Blurb. Then I’m going to do one for each year up to 2014. Still deciding how I’m going to document all the photos prior to 2010. We have albums up to about 2005-ish but they are a bit worse for wear and have been pulled apart a few times for scanning etc. And then there is a period 2006-2010 where I took a gazillion digital photos and never printed anything or organised anything. Eeeeek! Fun times ahead. I’m secretly looking forward to it all, but dreading it a little too. Project Life is very easy. It really is. But I’ll do it for this year and see how I like it. Thanks for dropping by. Hope you guys are well. 🙂

  2. Thank you Miss Tracie. I looked at those 60’s photos a few times. So cool weren’t they. I hear you about the food and health. It’s really hard to make the good choices when everything else is so darn yummy. 🙂 Jess is okay, just girls at school playing I like you one day and I don’t like you the next day game. Jess doesn’t get it. She has a couple of constant friends which is good, but just a few extras that like to be nasty. I wish I could wrap her in cotton wool sometimes. And the get it righters are just those blogs where they are constantly creating new things and jumping out of their skins with positive motivation and cool clothes, and travelling the globe and just seem so darn happy. I know its a blog and they are normal people just like us in the real world, but some days I’m just blah. I’m not bouncing out of my skin with 24 hour a day inspiration. We need a blah blog where when you open it up you go “Oh okay, there it is… that’s me today. I’m just blah. No world changing words of wisdom today… I’m just blah”. 🙂 Haha doesn’t that sound depressing. Of course I’m joking, that ‘s just what I meant about some people seem to always get it right. I love their blogs or I wouldn’t read them. But that’s why I love your blog. You have just inspiring and beautiful posts, but some days you just say it like it is. You may not feel that great and you say it. You keep it real Miss Tracie. I really have to catch up on so many of your posts. I’m way behind on everything but accepting that’s how it gets sometimes. Take care lovely and talk to you soon.

  3. Hi there! I tried to follow the link (your title) from the comment you left on my blog, but it led me to a page that was private. So I decided to google you and see what I could find, and I found you! I am so thrilled that you went a head and finished your taking stock post, so many things we have in common. Getting organized, catching up, being behind, being an introvert, right there with ya! Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

